Pic holds on to first victory in GP2

26/07/2014 17:08

Arthur Pic wins his first race of GP2 during featured race in the Hungaroring. The Frenchman takes the victory thanks to a great strategy as well as the podium finishers: Stefano Coletti and Adrian Quaiffe-Hobbs. But Palmer increases the distance in the driver's championships to 39 points.

By: Arnau Viñals Vendrell

Nasr kept the first place in the start but Dillmann loses his second place after being overtaken by Palmer at the end of first lap. This caused that Nasr gets a good distance between Palmer who was second followed by Dillmann, Vandoorne and Marciello in top 5.


Palmer were cutting the distance with Nasr but his teammate, Stéphane Richelmi when He was fighting for the eight place with Kimiya Sato, crashed onto the back of the Campos car and then crashed into the barrier. This incident caused a Safety Car deployed. Nasr was leading the way followed by Palmer, Dillmann, Vandoorne, Cecotto, Sørensen, Evans, Daly, De Jong and Trummer in the top 10 on lap 8. Marciello where 13th after change his soft tires but then the Italian driver had a drive through penalty for speeding in the pit lane. 


The Green flag comes in at lap 9 Nasr and Palmer escaped from Dillmann who lost 4 seconds in a lap due to Rene Binder who didn’t left to overtake.


Palmer looked racy and ready to try and find a way to past Nasr but meanwhile, Cecotto pits and stalled. Palmer with 13 laps to go had tried to get the lead but Nasr kept the position in a strong way. The leader of the race stops at lap 12 as Dillmann, Evans and De Jong did the same. The EQ8 Caterham Racing driver, Tom Dillmann came out behind Marciello who had a drive through penalty. Palmer stops at the following lap, and the battle with Nasr continues. It was a very beautiful battle between both championship leaders in every lap.


Berthon was trying to overtake Canamasas for seventh place but the Frenchman doesn’t left much space to the Catalan driver who finally crashes into the barrier and retired of the race causing a Safety car. This action was perfect to pits for Vandoorne after led the race in the past laps. After all drivers’ stops, Pics led the race followed by Haryanto, Coletti, Quaife-Hobbs, Izawa, Abt, Palmer and Nasr. Rarely, Haryanto lost his podium position after lose his wheel. 


The Safety car came in and left the race for 1 lap.  Palmer and Nasr overtook Daniel Abt for sixth place but the Brazilian didn’t achieve it. Vandoorne and Marciello overtook Berthon for eight position. That means that Ferrari Academy Driver, Raffaele Maricello will start tomorrow from first place.


Finally Arthur Pic wins his first ever GP2 Series Race in his rookie year, Coletti finished second as Quaiffe-Hobbs gets his first podium of the season finishing the race on third place.


Now Palmer leads the championship with 39 points of distance between Nasr, and 64 with Coletti.





Pos. Car Driver   Team Gap Diff
1 26 Arhur Pic FRA Campos Racing 35 Laps
2 6 Stefano Coletti MON Racing Engineering + 2,700 + 2,700
3 14 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs GBR Rapax + 3,100 + 0,400
4 9 Takuya Izawa JAP ART Grand Prix + 3,600 + 0,500
5 7 Joylon Palmer GBR Dams + 3,800 + 0,200
6 11 Daniel Abt GER Hilmer Motorsport + 5,100 + 1,300
7 3 Felipe Nasr BRA Carlin + 5,100 + 0,000
8 5 Raffaele Marciello ITA Racing Engineering + 5,900 + 0,800
9 10 Stoffel Vandoorne BEL ART Grand Prix + 6,200 + 0,300
10 24 Nathanaël Berthon FRA Venezuela GP Lazarus + 7,000 + 0,800
11 19 Tom Dillmann FRA EQ8 Caterham Racing + 7,600 + 0,600
12 21 Marco Sørensen DAN MP Motorsport + 8,100 + 0,500
13 15 Simon Trummer CHE Rapax + 8,300 + 0,200
14 1 Mitch Evans NZ RT Russian Time + 8,700 + 0,400
15 25 Conor Daly USA Venezuela GP Lazarus + 11,600 + 2,900
16 20 Daniël de Jong NED MP Motorsport + 13,400 + 1,800
17 17 André Negrao BRA Arden International + 14,200 + 0,800
18 2 Artem Markelov RUS RT Russian Time + 15,900 + 1,700
19 12 Jon Lancaster GBR Hilmer Motorsport + 16,000 + 0,100
20 16 Rene Binder AUT Arden International + 1 Lap -
  18 Rio Haryanto IND EQ8 Caterham Racing + 5 Laps -
  22 Sergio Canamasas ESP Trident + 6 Laps -
  23 Johnny Cecotto VEN Trident + 13 Laps -
  27 Kimiya Sato JAP Campos Racing + 25 Laps -
  8 Stéphane Richelmi MON Dams + 30 Laps -
  4 Julián Leal COL Carlin + 30 Laps -